Misdemeanors are crimes for which the maximum penalty is up to one year in prison. The type and severity of the alleged offense will determine whether an individual is charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.
For people who are charged with a misdemeanor in the state of Texas, there are three different levels of severity of this type of crime.
Class A: The most severe level. The Class A misdemeanor has not only the most expensive fine, but also the longest jail time. If convicted, this level of misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in a local jail with a fine that can reach $4,000.
Class B A punishment of up to 180 days in a local jail and the fine can reach up to $2,000.
Class C The least severe with a maximum fine of $500.
Although misdemeanors carry lesser penalties than felonies, the social impact of any criminal conviction is very serious. Many people have difficulty finding employment and may even be terminated after a conviction on a misdemeanor.
If you are accused-of or charged-with a misdemeanor you should take this matter very seriously. Contact Daniel | Williams immediately to advise you of your rights before making any statements or agreements. Our attorney's are licensed to practice in Texas and Louisiana, and can be reached toll free at (877) 229-9997 or locally at (713) 229-9997.